Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Future Pinball » BAM corner




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in script.
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 935
here is BAM beta:
http://www.ravarcade.pl/beta/BAM.dll

and ball demo table (v7)
http://www.ravarcade.pl/debug/ballDemo7.fpt

See table script.
At begin is latest full BAM-safe-fail-error-remover for no-bam users.

New script things:
- xBAM.BallRadius - you can change how big will be created ball. It will not change balls already created. Default value = 13.5.
- xBAM.BallMass - you can change ball mass. It will not change balls already created. Default value = 18.0 (but it depends on used physics).

Demo:
It create 9 balls, with different size and mass.

Info for table devs notes:
1. If you set both value in main part of script (outside any subroutine) it will affect all balls. No need to repeat it. So you need only two line at begin of script to have all balls on table with choosen size and weight.

2. Size of ball have inpact on ball behave. So don't expect, that when you change ball size and keep same mass value ball will roll same path.

3. Small ball may pass under obstancles. So don't do balls too small

4. Big ball will not fall in to kicker. (See may demo). It is not very usefull but maybe you will find how to use it.

5. In demo i use "custom balls", but if you only want to change BallMass you don't need to use it. Code like this:
Code:
xBAM.BallMass=100.0
Kicker1.CreateBall
xBAM.BallMass=18.0

Will work. (Note, after ball creation i restore default BallMass, so next create ball will get default mass (18.0)).

6. If you want to change size of all balls for table and don't want to use "custom balls" just put "xBAM.BallRadius = 11.2" in script outside any subroutine and it will work.

7. If you try to have many different ball sizes on table and you will not use "custom balls" you will end with all ball on table with same visible size, but different physics sim size. So balls created with radius smaller than 13.5 will be partialy in table and balls created with radius bigger than 13.5 will be hovering over table. Without "custom balls" BAM don't have way to distinguish balls and all are drawn in same size.

8. Remember: When you use xBAM.BallMass it will override value from physicsXML.

------
Last warning this BAM have new keyboard subroutines. You may now assing in "Redefine Keyboard" buttons from joystick (or analog sitcks too).
If for some reason after this updating BAM.dll you can't see BAM menu, try to delete BAM.cfg file and restart FP/BAM. You will only loose values set in "Redefine Keys" menu.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-241, released: Nov 9, 2018


Last edited by ravarcade on Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1765
Location: Arkansas, USA
Wow! I can't believe you managed to do this.

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2196
Location: Ontario, Canada
Very cool Rav, I am looking forward to trying all this!!
Thank you again !!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 4:57 pm
Posts: 1063
Location: Turin-ITALY
ravarcade wrote:
.........here is BAM beta:.......


it is a beautiful work..... It has a good chance of application.......
Thank you

Gianfranco


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 4:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:54 pm
Posts: 1072
Location: Sicily-Italy
Comment deleted


Last edited by wild on Wed Jun 22, 2016 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 935
wild wrote:
sorry, guys, but is only to understand better...I.but this is the same thing that I had asked him , in RESIZE BALL :?: I repeat......is just to understand , I do not want to create discomfort :D

Yes.
It is just more flexible.
If you use it right, you may have many balls with different size same time on playfield.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-241, released: Nov 9, 2018


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:54 pm
Posts: 1072
Location: Sicily-Italy
Comment deleted


Last edited by wild on Wed Jun 22, 2016 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 7:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2196
Location: Ontario, Canada
Wow this crazy good Rav!!

Thanks for your great work!!!

I was able to change each ball on playfield uniquuely with respect to ball size ,mass and custom ball texture, on the fly, based on table events !!!

A couple of questions

1.Is it possible to make all balls on the playfield "lose their ID/have same ID" via the script, so they all could change to the same ball (ie we have 3 balls currently
on playfield: a basket ball, a golf ball and a baseball. When one of them hits kicker1 , they all become soccer balls?

2. What potential developments do you see with BAM next?
We can now change ball mass during game which really is tweaking physics on the fly. It begs the question, will it be possible to have
The full range of xml parameters codable and variable based on game events? I am not sure why this would be good or bad but it would lead to a mind numbing ability to tweak game events


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 4:57 pm
Posts: 1063
Location: Turin-ITALY
Here's how we can change the dodgeball of Cirqus Voltaire, thanks to the new utility created by Ravarcade with BAM. Of course we will have to refine the mass of dodgeball.
Greetings

Gianfranco



Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM/VBS: how to change ball radius and ball mass in scri
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1765
Location: Arkansas, USA
franzleo wrote:
Here's how we can change the dodgeball of Cirqus Voltaire, thanks to the new utility created by Ravarcade with BAM. Of course we will have to refine the mass of dodgeball.
Greetings

Gianfranco


I always thought that Cirqus Voltaire could be improved. The ring master just suddenly appears instead of slowly rising up. There is a also a lot of DMD work that was never done. Unfortunately, the visual pinball version of this table has us beat. Of course, it just uses ROMs.

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Future Pinball » BAM corner


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: