Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Resources » FPM EDITOR and 3D models




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:39 am
Posts: 1867
I made a model roughly based on pinball fx2 arcade for VR headset.
I don't know if BAM has it's own shadow yet so I can't really figure how I will export this model since there is a lot of textures.

Attachment:
FParcade.png


I would make it so the pinball table is right in the middle of the center pit. Can this interest anyone or should I move on to something else?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
add me to SKYPE : steve.paradis49


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
I PM'd you a message (and deleted it before you saw it..) a month ago , asking if you could do this very thing....

..and I was about to do the same today, when I saw this post...

I am very interested in this Steve !

As you probably read on the the recent "coin door" post
BAM can already replace the Game Room Model


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:39 am
Posts: 1867
Just before I dismantle it to make it in many parts, do you know the concept of Spherical enrironment made with a cube cross image?

See example here : http://ggnome.com/pano2vr/examples

My point is that with a simple cube with 6 independent faces you can map a cross type environment map.

Attachment:
horizontalcross.jpg


I made such a cube and can send it to you if you want to try it with the miniplayfield in BAM.

It will surely not be as effective as a full 3d model, but much more customisable by any one since you need to edit some images to obtain the scenery of your choice.

Anyway, let me know if you want to try it.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
add me to SKYPE : steve.paradis49


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yes please Steve.
A cube sounds perfect and cross texture map looks cool....

I can definitely try miniplayfield application...

The other option with BAM is if possible converting the model as:

GameRoom 391.MODELS
and BAM can load it automatically from the TableName.zip that we make?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:39 am
Posts: 1867
is there a way to extract the actual gameroom to know wht is the size of it?
I know about the replacing thingy in BAM but don't want to guess what size the cube should be.

cube with cross mapping texture support

Attachment:
cube.zip


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
add me to SKYPE : steve.paradis49


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yes I just did it....I post a link in a second...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2zkzi5tgi4edqd1/391.FPM?dl=0

Here's the model, I think...



Here's the procedure I followed:

How to get all the elements from original game?
Use my small command line tool: FPRes.
http://www.ravarcade.pl/files/FPRes.exe

Instruction:
1.Create a folder ie "C:/BAM Models"
2.Copy Future Pinball.exe file into the folder ( I renamed it NEWFP.exe)
3.Also Copy FPRes.exe file into the folder
4.Open Command Prompt (and make sure the path can find your new directory ie Path C:/Models )
5. Type the following command:
FPRes.exe NEWFP.exe
6. A new directory called "FpRes" should be now be present
ie C:/Models/FpRes
7. There will be a Models subdirectory present with all the FP models
8.The Game Room is 391.Models
9.Simply Rename it 391.fpm in order to load into FPM editor


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
I am using milkshape and can load the obj cube and convert to ms3d and fpm
but how do I convert the mtl file to a jpg? so I can see if the texture works?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:39 am
Posts: 1867
you don't have to.
just use any vertical cross images

TEST
Attachment:
cube cross toy.zip


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
add me to SKYPE : steve.paradis49


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FP Arcade Model
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
your test is very cool and doesn't even require BAM

It seems to flicker a lot, do get the same result?


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Board index » Resources » FPM EDITOR and 3D models


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: