Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Resources » Tutorials, how-to's, bug report and docs




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bug with Blender->ms3d and shading (Blender -> OBJ is fine)
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 3:02 pm
Posts: 261
I don't know if beta-tester still looks at issues in the Blender->ms3d exporter but I've narrowed down an issue where an object gets incorrect shading applied.

- Blender exporting to ms3d the shading is incorrect
- Blender I export to OBJ and then using Milkshape (or XSI) import the OBJ and export/save as ms3d the shading is correct.

Is there anyone else who uses Blender's ms3d export and can potentially verify if there is something I'm misunderstanding when exporting to ms3d?

thanks,
-mark


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug with Blender->ms3d and shading (Blender -> OBJ is fi
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 3:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:46 pm
Posts: 316
hello,

In blender, choose the top view, rotate your object as if it ''look'' to the RIGHT of your screen (the front of your object must be to the right when looking from top view)).
aplly rotation/scale/location to the object and export to ms3d.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug with Blender->ms3d and shading (Blender -> OBJ is fi
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 4:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:20 pm
Posts: 261
Location: orion-cygnus arm, local solar system, earth, europe, germany, ..., here
MadMrMax wrote:
I don't know if beta-tester still looks at issues in the Blender->ms3d exporter but I've narrowed down an issue where an object gets incorrect shading applied.

- Blender exporting to ms3d the shading is incorrect
- Blender I export to OBJ and then using Milkshape (or XSI) import the OBJ and export/save as ms3d the shading is correct.

Is there anyone else who uses Blender's ms3d export and can potentially verify if there is something I'm misunderstanding when exporting to ms3d?

thanks,
-mark
no, i am not very active anymore...
what do you mean with "shading incorrect"?
that can mean everything, (material, normale, sharp edges, ...).
you should provide screenshots (source, exported result, expected exported result, ...).


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Board index » Resources » Tutorials, how-to's, bug report and docs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: